Welcome to Vol Game-Day

The Tennessee Vols will take on the Florida Gators on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. The two teams have one of the longest ongoing rivalries in college football.

UT is 19-26 all-time against Florida Saturday marks the first year since 2012 that both teams enter the game undefeated.

ESPN College GameDay will be at a UT game for the second time this season to broadcast the game. The first time was at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

UT students are amped up for the game this weekend, when Neyland Stadium will be checkered white and orange.

“I have never been to a UT-Florida game before because it was in Florida last year” said senior Alexis Fitzgerald, “So I watched it on TV and I was heartbroken when the Vols lost.”

One student has never gone to the Vols versus Gators and did not really care to try to request a ticket because they are based off of a point-based system.

“I don’t even bother requesting a ticket anymore because it goes off of attendance based points, so I know I would never get one,” said senior Kierra Harvey.

UT might be full of the most devoted fans in college football, so be this game has some of the students uncertain.

“I want them to win, but I am not certain because so many key players are out with injuries. We’re not a throwing team, we’re a running team. Florida’s offense is really good and I am extremely concerned for the game…but GO VOLS!” said Fitzgerald.

While some students are not going to the game, most still plan on watching it.

“I plan on going to a sports bar with some friends to enjoy food and watch the game,” said senior Katelyn Houston, “It has air-conditioning, my friends can all sit together, and I don’t have to pay for overpriced stadium food and drinks.”

Students will continue to support the Vols, no matter the outcome of the game, but they all hope to end the 11-year losing streak to the Gators.

Game-day festivities will kickoff at 9 a.m. on ESPN. 

Leave a Reply

